Sources returnpage

Morera, Enric

Category: Musician or composer

Enric Morera i Viura (22 May 1865 – 12 March 1942), was a Catalan musician and composer.

Morera was born in Barcelona but moved with his father, a musician, to Buenos Aires, Argentina in 1867, studying organ, trumpet, and violin there. He returned in 1883 to Barcelona, studying with Isaac Albéniz and Felip Pedrell. Later he lived for two years in Brussels before returning to Argentina. He finally returned to Barcelona in 1890 where he was prominent in the movement Catalan Musical Modernism, with for example the opera La Fada (The Fairy) in 1897.

It is his interest in Catalan music, which is closely allied to Flamenco and a whole host of more ancient music systems that more closely represent celestial music, plus his very clear spiritual beliefs that make him of interest on this site

Morera also founded the choir "Catalunya Nova" and wrote books on musical theory such as a "Practical Treatise on Harmony", which is of great interest given the problems of Harmony we experience today.

His music is generally strongly 'Catalan' in character, and much forms part of the repertory of Catalan national compositions. He wrote more than 800 compositions. Included are songs, a Requiem Mass, lyric works, symphonic works, operas, symphonic poems, and sardanas for cobla.

Although he spent some time in Argentina and Belgium, Morera spent most of his life in Barcelona, and died there in 1942.

The personal papers of Enric Morera are preserved in the Biblioteca de Catalunya.


Representative works include

  • Dansa del gnoms, 1893

  • Introducció a l'Atlántida, symphonic poem, 1893

  • Minuet per a quartet de corda, 1889

  • Jesús de Nazareth, 1894

  • La Fada, opera, 1897

  • L'alegria que passa, 1898

  • Missa de rèquiem, 1899

  • La nit de l'amor, 1901

  • El comte Arnau, 1905

  • Bruniselda, 1906

  • Empòrium, Opera, 1906

  • Don Joan de Serrallonga,1907

  • La Santa Espina, patriotic song and sardana, 1907

  • Cançons populars catalanes harmonitzades, 1910

  • Titaina, Opera, 1912

  • Tassarba, Opera, 1916

  • Concert per a violoncel i orquestra, 1917

  • El poema de la Nit i el Dia i de la Terra i de l'Amor, symphonic poem, 1920

  • Cançons de career, 1926

  • La Marieta de l'ullviu, 1926

  • La cançó dels Catalans, 1930

  • El castell dels tres dragons, 1931


For iPad/iPhone users: tap letter twice to get list of items.