Some science behind the scenes


The word Salamander is used to describe around 500 species of amphibians.  Within this family are a group of the genus  Salamandridae  a family of creatures consisting of both true salamanders and newts.   The genus Cynops is actually a newt, as is the Tarich, Notophthalmus, and Triturus.

A number of Salamanders from the Salamandridae family contain Tetrodotoxin in their skin secretions, muscle and eggs.  Examples include S. Tarich, Notophthalmus, Cynops and Triturus.  Tetrodotoxin is a really deadly toxin.

The sub family Salamandrinae  - are the true salamanders.   A list of true salamanders follows:

  • Genus Chioglossa- 1 species,  it is found in the north-west of Iberia at an altitude of up to 1,300m
    • Gold-Striped Salamander (Chioglossa lusitanica)
  • Genus Lyciasalamandra- 7 species  found in Turkey
    • Anatolia Lycian Salamander (Lyciasalamandra anatlyana)
    • Atif's Lycian Salamander(Lyciasalamandra atifi)
    • Bay Lycian Salamander (Lyciasalamandra billae)
    • Fazil Lycian Salamander(Lyciasalamandra fizilae)
    • Marmaris Lycian Salamander (Lyciasalamandra flavimembris)
    • Karpathos Lycian Salamander (Lyciasalamandra helverseni)
    • Luschan's Salamander (Lyciasalamandra luschani)
  • Genus Mertensiella - 1 species , threatened by habitat loss and found in Georgia and Turkey
    • Caucasian Salamander (Mertensiella caucasica)
  • Genus Salamandra (Fire Salamanders) - 6 species
    • Algerian Fire Salamander (Salamandra algira)
    • Alpine Salamander(Salamandra atra)
    • Corsican Fire Salamander(Salamandra corsica)
    • Near Eastern Fire Salamander(Salamandra infraimmaculata)
    • Lanza's Alpine Salamander(Salamandra lanzai)
    • Fire Salamander (Salamandra salamandra)