Print this page

Observations placeholder

Debussy - Reflets dans l’eau



Type of spiritual experience


A description of the experience

Debussy – Reflets dans l’eau

Claude Debussy's piece Reflets dans l'eau ("Reflections in the Water") is the first of three pieces for the piano from his first volume of Images, which are frequently performed separately. It was written in 1905. As with much of Debussy's work, it is referred to as Impressionistic, meaning that it expresses emotions and senses by making use of non-functional harmony and ambiguous key signatures, its tonality being mainly non-diatonic and usually having a sense of modality


The source of the experience


Concepts and Symbols used in the text or image