Observations placeholder

Grieg - Holberg Suite, Op 40



Type of Spiritual Experience


Dictionary of Unitarian &  Universalist Biography – ‘Edvard and Nina Grieg’ by Peter Hughes November 4, 2004                

An 1884 commission from Bergen to celebrate the bicentennial of its native poet Ludvig Holberg led Grieg to compose The Holberg Suite, op. 40 (which he fashioned in both piano and orchestral versions.) The Griegs moved in 1885 to their own newly-built house, Troldhaugen, near Bergen.


A description of the experience

Edvard Grieg : Holberg Suite, Op 40 From Holberg’s Time, for string orchestra

Orpheus Chamber Orchestra

  1. Praeludium (Allegro vivace)
  2. Sarabande (Andante)
  3. Gavotte (Allegretto)
  4. Air (Andante religioso)
  5. Rigaudon (Allegro con brio)


The Holberg Suite, Op. 40, more properly "From Holberg's Time" (Norwegian: Frå Holbergs tid, German: Aus Holbergs Zeit), subtitled "Suite in olden style" (Norwegian: Suite i gammel stil, German: Suite im alten Stil), is a suite of five movements based on eighteenth century dance forms, written by Edvard Grieg in 1884 to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the birth of Danish-Norwegian humanist playwright Ludvig Holberg.

The Holberg Suite was originally composed for the piano, but a year later was adapted by Grieg himself for string orchestra. The suite consists of an introduction and a set of dances.


The source of the experience


Concepts, symbols and science items



Science Items

Activities and commonsteps



Believing in the spiritual world