Print this page

Observations placeholder

The Means of achieving spiritual experience - Shaivism – 07 The methods of the ‘Bhakta’



Type of spiritual experience


This list covers a number of activities and sub-activities all of which have been listed in the activity and the concepts section and can be cross referenced from there

A description of the experience

According to the Linga Purana (I, chap. 89, 24-29), the rules of conduct for the "participant" (Bacchant or Bhakta), or "companion" (kaula), who desires to dedicate himself to the search for wisdom, are five in number:

  • not to steal (asteya);
  • wandering and renunciation of marriage (brahma-charya);
  • absence of ambition (alobha);
  • renunciation of wordly goods (tyaga) and
  • non-violence (ahimsa).

To these may be added for apprentices:

  • absence of anger (akrodha);
  • his master's service (gurusushruta);
  • cleanliness (shaucha);
  • moderation in eating (aharalaghava) and
  • study (adhyaya).

The source of the experience


Concepts and Symbols used in the text or image


Observation contributed by: Rosie Rock-Evans