Spiritual concepts

Four Temperaments


The Four Temperaments is a very old classification of fundamental personality types:

  • sanguine - optimistic leader-like
  • choleric - bad-tempered or irritable
  • melancholic - analytical and quiet and
  • phlegmatic - relaxed and peaceful

The Greek physician Hippocrates (c. 460 – c. 370 BC) incorporated the four temperaments into his medicine and the personality type  was taken into account when devising healing and medicines well up to the 20th century.  It linked in to the concept of the Four humours.

It is only recently that we have ignored the type of person completely when dishing out pharmaceuticals.


For iPad/iPhone users: tap letter twice to get list of items.